Call for a Free Consultation
click for free consultation

Do I Need To Report a Car Accident to the DMV in the State of Colorado?

In Colorado, you may need to report a car accident to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if there’s been damage or injury. However, this may not be necessary if a law enforcement officer responds to your accident and officially documents it with their own report. Understanding whether you’re required to take action can help minimize any additional stress after an incident.

When You’re Required to Report a Car Accident in Colorado 

In most scenarios when law enforcement arrives to document an accident in Colorado, the responsibility of reporting falls into their hands. However, you may be required to report it on your own if:

  • You receive a formal request from the DMV directing you to submit an accident report; usually they detail precise instructions regarding which forms are needed.
  • When law enforcement isn’t present at the scene because it takes place during an accident alert. This means police couldn’t come to the scene because weather conditions prevented them from responding. In this situation, you’ll also be required to file a report on your own.

How to Report a Car Accident to the DMV

Reporting a car accident to the DMV or Colorado State Patrol can usually be done either through the mail or online. To use these reporting methods, you must meet certain criteria:

  • The accident did not cause any injuries that required medical attention 
  • There was no damage to public property 
  • It was not a hit-and-run

Additionally, if the accident involves a driver without insurance, someone who didn’t have correct licensing, or there were suspicions of drug or alcohol use on the part of any of the involved drivers in the accident, you won’t be able to file your accident report online.

For accidents which don’t qualify for online or mail reporting, the law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction of your accident can advise you on proper protocol to make the report. Contact them promptly to ensure there is no delay in meeting your duty to report.

Getting a Copy of The Accident Report 

If you need a copy of your accident report, you’ll need to request it by sending a written request to the Colorado DMV. You must include the following information in your request:

  • Name
  • Date of birth
  • Address
  • Driver’s license number
  • Date the accident took place
  • City and county where the accident took place

You must include payment in the amount of $2.70 for a certified copy and $2.20 for a regular copy.

If the investigating agency was Colorado State Patrol, they typically have accident reports prepared within a week. If another law enforcement agency conducted the investigation, it could take up to eight weeks before reports are available for release.

Importance of an Accident Report for Your Personal Injury Case

An official accident report from law enforcement agencies plays an instrumental role in your personal injury case following a car accident. This document contains crucial details about the incident, including evidence of who they believe was at fault and accounts from witnesses and involved parties.

The report’s objective analysis on how and why the incident occurred often becomes important when trying to establish liability and for settlement negotiations with insurance companies.

Handling the aftermath of an accident can be overwhelming, but obtaining a detailed accident report can help tremendously.  If you need help obtaining your accident report or you need assistance with any other step of a personal injury claim, don’t hesitate to contact our car accident attorney in Colorado Springs today to schedule a free consultation.